Checking In

Hello, everyone. This is just a post to let you know that I’m still alive and well and doing just fine, thank you for asking.

Naturally, there are many things I miss about my life in WoW. I miss my friends and guildies. I miss making my YouTube videos and interacting with subscribers. Heck, at times I miss playing the game itself. It was fun. All of these things contributed to a sense of community that I miss dearly. You guys meant a lot to me and I think about all of you on a daily basis.

To be honest about it, I have to admit that I gave some serious thought to coming back. Aside from all the people and other things that I miss, I’d love to see and experience all of the new zones, quests, raids, and dungeons. I’d even love to take a crack at the new Mythic Plus system. I really miss the thrill of conquering higher-difficulty content. It was always a real charge. Things like that make me want to give it another try.

The thing is, when I think about it some more, nothing has changed. The colossally bad decision about flight still hasn’t been corrected and I loathe being chained to the ground. The overly grindy nature of the world quest system has not changed and I easily tire of busy work. Alt-friendliness is at an all-time low because of the artifact weapon system and I simply can’t tolerate being limited like that. Yes, yes, I know: all of these things will be fixed Soon™ but I tire of promises of the next patch fixing everything. After nearly a decade of broken promises I just don’t believe Blizzard anymore.

Oh, and all of that is without addressing the logistics of returning mid-stream and being behind in the gearing and AP grinding, and having missed out on an entire tier of the raiding experience. As much as it would be great to be able to come back, it just seems like it would be too much effort to make it work, and in the end that’s all it would be; making it work, forcing it to fit. I don’t really want that.

No worries, though, my life is doing just fine without WoW. I’ve channeled my energies into other projects. At the risk of sounding like a braggart, my culinary skills have progressed to a point where I never knew food could taste so good. I’m sure that I still have much to learn, but everything I make rivals the quality you’ll find in local sit-down restaurants, and fast food has kind of been ruined for me (it just doesn’t taste good to me anymore). I’ve also gone back to my long-neglected habit/hobby of writing. I’m in the world-building process right now, but I hope to be into the story-writing stage in time for NaNoWriMo (if not before) and publishing through Kindle by next year. I’m really very excited about the prospects. I probably won’t make more than a few bucks here and there,  but hey, you never know, right? Maybe my stuff will catch on.

Anyway, that’s enough about me. If any of you guys are still around, I’d love to hear about you all. I often wonder which achievement Askevar and Venoym are plugging away at now, or what Zank and Kirova are up to, or how George and Tarii are doing, or well, all of you guys: Miri, Grem, Tall, Eth, Dal, Braydenn. Or even my non-guild friends, Lala, Dan, Werf, Rizzy. I feel like I’m forgetting some people,  in which case I am sorry. If any of you are still around or know how these folks are doing, please drop me a line.

Until next time, and with warmest regards, Barley.

4 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. “all of these things will be fixed Soon”

    I don’t think Blizzard has claimed that, though – and I’m glad of it. Delaying flight has let them create Suramar, some of their best and most involving content ever.

    I find World Quests to be the opposite of grindy – a panoply of different play types available every day. I’m not trying to be confrontational, but what endgame content from the past are you comparing it with?

    I admit that I don’t really understand the idea of having multiple top-rank alts, so I haven’t missed them, but then I basically never run out of stuff to do on my main – but I know I’m not in the majority there.

    • 7.2 is allegedly going to bring back flight, address alts via artifact knowledge boosts, and make world quests more rewarding, which is what I was referring to. IMO, it’s all too little, too late. It’s not enough to bring me back to the table.

      I’m comparing them with daily quests and objective zones (i.e. Isle of Quel’Danas/Thunder/Giants/Time, Tanaan Jungle, etc.), which is all they are. Sure, they swapped the questgivers for a new map UI, and have made them spawn in several zones instead of one, but IMO, that hasn’t fundamentally changed anything. If anything, spreading them out while limiting movement is just adding more time wastage. In fairness, my complaint with the system is more how much of it you have to do to grind out AP and not necessarily the system itself. For the record, I don’t mean that to be as cranky as it sounds, either, I just don’t much care for the artifact weapon system and that’s kind of the core of the whole expansion.

      As for the alts thing, for me it’s kind of like eating the same meal over and over. I mean, I love pizza as much as the next guy but I don’t want it for every meal. My play experience is very much like that. The differences between classes and between roles (melee/ranged/healer/tank) is enough to keep things feeling fresh and new to me. Up until this expansion, it was feasible to keep multiple specs and/or multiple alts geared up to a point that I could fill in any hole my guild or friends list might have had. Need a tank for a dungeon? No worries, I got you covered. Need a healer for a raid? I’d be glad to. Need one more dps for that world boss? I’m on my way. Whatever, whenever, I had a toon for that. The artifact weapon system completely trashed that way of life. Much like flight, it’s just one more way that Blizzard is taking away my agency (i.e. my ability to play the game my own way).

      At any rate, thanks for reading and for commenting. I hope that you’ve enjoyed reading my posts as much as I’ve enjoyed writing them.

Leave a Reply

