Timewalking Runs

This was an interesting weekend. Real life happened to Tall again, so no challenge mode runs. Maybe next weekend. Since we couldn’t do CMs, we decided to do some timewalking dungeons, instead. We had Askevar’s wee one join us and I think we all had a good time. I know I did. The only blemish on the evening was our internet going wonky and DCing/lagging us for about 5 minutes straight. Sometimes I f-ing hate our internet. Gah. Anyway, we managed to get all 5 dungeons done for the quest and I even managed to nab some nice pants out of the reward chest. They were an upgrade for my healing set, at any rate. Huzzah.

So since I had some time to kill this morning I hopped on my druid alt and queued up. Oh what a difference the group can make. On my first run, I was put into Old Kingdom, probably my least favorite dungeon, ever. Despite this, things went pretty well except for the boss that summons swarmer adds. I stood next to the melee so the tank and melee could hit it with their aoe/cleaves and kill them quickly. Nothing. By the time I had 4 adds on me I couldn’t heal through the damage and I died. This was, apparently, my fault, since I was supposed to just tank the adds while I dpsed them down while I was healing everyone. Because hitting Thunderclap is too much work for him, I guess. So, anyway, I yelled right back at him for mocking the DK and I for dying to the adds. Seriously, man, just because I can do anything doesn’t mean I can do everything. Anyway, other than that one nasty exchange the rest of the dungeon went off without a hitch. I do dislike tanks with attitude, though, so I ditched the group and queued up again.

The next group was so much better. The tank was both friendly and very competent. There were a couple of times that a dps accidentally pulled (tab target fail) and he picked up the adds quickly and easily. He used his CDs well and marked priorities when needed. He was a very good tank, all in all. One of the dps was a bit green, and kept asking questions, which the tank and I answered as best we could while in combat. We ended up running 4 dungeons together, in all, and every last one of them was a better experience than that first dungeon. We ran Halls of Lightning and Nexus without a hitch, no deaths, no wipes. We had a couple deaths in UP (boss whirlwind and those nasty fearing shamans), but no wipes. Then we got stuck in Old Kingdom again. Ugh. Did I mention I really hate that instance? We had quite a few deaths in the beginning, but once I pointed out that the Spell-Flingers needed to be interrupted it was smooth sailing. We finished the rest of the dungeon quicly and easily. The tank picked up the swarmers, the dps killed them quickly, and all was well in the world.

Here’s the major difference between the two groups: in the second one, nobody was a jerk. Questions were answered politely. Mistakes were corrected without insult. Everyone did their own part and the run was smooth because of it. At the end we said thank you, we paid compliments to one another, and just enjoyed the social experience. That’s right, we enjoyed the community aspect of the game in the day of LFG and the “disposable” group. While it’s true that we’ll probably never see each other again, it made my day to hear the various compliments, just as I’m sure it thrilled him to hear me compliment his tanking and I’m sure the dps smiled when I said the groups does “ridiculous amounts of damage.” I got “excellent heals,” “great heals,” and “the best heals I’ve seen all week” during those 4 runs and it really brightened my day, especially after the exchange in that first group (in which I was called a “noob” lol).

Amazing, isn’t it, the difference an attitude can make? If you’re in a good group, tell them so. If another player did a particularly good job, let them know, even if it’s just to say “nice [dps/heals/tanking]”. If somebody does something spectacular during a pull, highlight it (“nice save,” “pro CC,” or “good pickup”). If somebody makes a mistake and apologizes, forgive them (no worries”). It’s basic human kindness. I think we all had a good time with that second group (we started off as 3 that stayed after the first run, but had 4 by the last run). We were laughing and joking with each other. In Nexus, the tank accidentally pulled the 2nd half of the frozen hallway on the first boss. After the pull he said “Um, oops?” and I responded with “Any pull you can walk away from, man.” We all laughed. Yeah, somebody screwed up, but instead of getting all bent out of shape we just buckled down, made the save, and had fun doing it.

I wish I could be in more groups like this. Sure, there will always be those guys who cop a ‘tude and make a beeline for the exit the second the final boss is looted, but you don’t have to be one of those guys. This whole chain of events was set in motion because I stayed long enough after a run to say “good group” and “awesome tanking” and somebody else stayed long enough to listen and return the compliments. Maybe if more of us stopped being “that guy” the community aspects of wow wouldn’t seem so dead. Maybe more groups would stay for an extra run or 2, or exchange battletag info. Even if not, what’s the worst that could happen by taking a few extra seconds to be nice to somebody, even if you won’t see them again?

Leave a Reply

