Crisis Averted

A little while back I decided to up my game a little bit and buy some actual gaming equipment, picking up a CM Storm Spawn gaming mouse to go with my Nostromo Speedpad. It took a little while to learn to use the new equipment, but once I did, amazing things happened. Faster reaction times, tighter rotations, easier movement; you name it, my game improved in that department.  All was well in the world until Tuesday morning, when the speedpad broke. I spent the better part of the afternoon trying to fix it before raid time. I plugged it in, reset it, restarted the computer; heck, I even took it apart, checked all the connections and put it back together, but it was all to no avail.

After one night of trying to raid with a normal keyboard, I knew something had to be done. So I bought yet another new toy. It wasn’t the one I wanted, but it was the one the local store had in stock, so it’ll have to do.

Here’s my replacement for the nostromo, the Razer Tartarus. It’s more or less a clone of the old one. It has the same basic size, shape, and layout, but with an adjustable palm grip. The only real differences are that the 15th button is a scroll-wheel on the nostromo, but a standard button on the Tartarus; that the joystick is not removable to form a d-pad on the Tartarus; and that the thumb-activated button on the Tartarus is slightly larger. I’m not entirely thrilled about the joystick situation, but the other two should actually be an improvement. Here’s hoping that this gets me back in the saddle for Thursday’s raid.

Leave a Reply

