The Nasty Business of Selling Things

I hate the economics part of the game. I just really don’t have the heart for it.

I put a Sky Golem up on the AH for 17.5K gold starting price, 20K buyout. Somebody whispers me wanting it for 10K. I politely apologize, but point out that I can easily sell the mats for 12K or more. I’m not going to lose money on the transaction. I tell them I can go as low as 15K. That’s already being pretty generous in my book (a 25% discount off the buyout). They claim they already bought one for 10K and they don’t have 15K left, but they’ll go 12. I once again apologize, but point out that selling the item at cost means that I make no profit off the item. Not one cent for a month worth of CDs. What’s more, that’s a month of CDs on not one, but two professions (Alchemy and Engineering). So I end up just logging off because they’re laying on the guilt trip pretty thick.

The thing is, even assuming her story is true,  I’m under no obligation to lose money just because somebody else did. Yet here I am, feeling like a shithead because we can’t come to terms. I honestly want to help her get her mount, but the price she’s asking is just way too low. I mean, I’d rather give it to my nephew than sell it at cost (or at a loss). Anyway, I hate how the people in the game always find some way to make you feel like a heel for trying to get fair market value on the AH.

 

UPDATE: Looks like my instincts were right. Somebody put one up for an 18K buyout (undercut me by 2K) and moments later, the person in question has stopped asking to buy one and now she’s hovering near the AH in one. Guess she should have gone 15K when I asked.

Leave a Reply

