A Weekly Dose of Etiquette Part 1

Just rolling restarts this week, so I’ll keep it short. These posts are in no particular order, other than whatever happens to be on my mind. My first post is about something that’s been bugging me lately, and it’s something I’ve seen more than one person do.

Tip #1: If you don’t have the spec, don’t roll against people who do.

I’ve seen this happen a couple of times lately, and I have to say it’s very annoying. By this I mean, I don’t merely mean mainset/offset rolls. I mean I’ve seen people rolling for an “offset” that they aren’t even specced for. I saw a prot pally rolling on plate dps gear “while he saves up” to buy offspec. I also saw a paladin rolling on practically everything because he “keeps 3 specs” and therefore “needs all of the pally gear.” I’m sorry, guys, but that’s just rude.

I appreciate that it’s expensive to save up for 2 specs and 2 sets of gear. I know because I have done so on half-a-dozen toons. But, in my humble opinion, it’s really rude to take gear away from people who can use it now for a potential future upgrade that may never happen (like, say, you decide that dual-spec isn’t worth it or you’d rather have fast flight than dual-spec – yeah, I’ve seen it happen). Oh, yeah, and it’s not like it gets any cheaper. 1k for the dual-spec itself is chump change. You can easily have upwards of 500g invested per item between gems and enchants. If you’re taking weeks and weeks (months in some cases) to get 1k gold for dual-spec, you simply can’t afford it.

No, it’s not just sour grapes. In all but one instance, I wouldn’t have won the roll, anyway. However, it really gets my goat that some of our tanks with dual-spec (the ones called on to change roles when we have too many tanks for some reason) are losing out on upgrades so that a guy that hasn’t even put down the dough for dual-spec can have a bank full of 251 gear. I have personally passed on rolls or given gear that I won to somebody who needs it more (i.e. bigger upgrade or they’ll use it more often). So attitudes and behavior like this just strikes me as particularly selfish and… bizarre. Why hamstring the whole raid by rolling against people who need the gear? When/if you ever get your dual-spec together, you’re not exactly likely to be swimming in competition for that gear when it drops again. Think of the future, think of the raid, think of others, just… think before you roll.

Leave a Reply

